OPINION


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

Decision 2024: The candidates, politicians, and names you need to know

The 2022 midterm elections mark the halfway point of President Joe Biden’s first term in office, meaning the road to the 2024 presidential election is fast approaching. Both parties have crucial decisions to make within the next two years that will decide whether they control the Oval Office on Jan. 20, 2025.


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

No vote, no voice: Talking politics

This year, millions of Americans will exercise their constitutional right to vote in the midterm elections, but many will actively ignore this privilege and avoid the polls. Some of these people will still take their opinion to the internet or the ears of those nearby.  While you are allowed to have political opinions and speak your mind, you shouldn’t complain about election results you didn’t participate in. 


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

Why you need to vote today

If you’re anything like me, you have been inundated with ads, text messages, emails and campaign materials for the past 18 months from every candidate who has your address and phone number. While it can get exhausting, it is important to remember why all of this is happening: you need to vote!


11/1/2022, 12:00pm

ShipYak: Helping or Hurting Campus?

For those who are fortunate enough not to know, Yik Yak, an app predominantly used by college students, is a social media app where users can post, or “yak,” to an anonymous message board that is visible to anyone within a 5-mile radius. Those who view the Yak then have the choice to upvote or downvote the post, deciding whether to make it more or less popular. Yaks that receive five or more downvotes are removed from the feed. 


11/1/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: Has entertainment become lazy?

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, everything changed, including the entertainment industry. Productions were shut down, films and series were delayed, and some content was canceled altogether. As the entertainment world tried to work with the circumstances they were given, audiences and fans were much more forgiving if the quality of the work was not on par with material that came before it. Fans were simply happy to get anything at all


11/1/2022, 12:00pm

The Right is Laying the Foundation for Genocide

I have talked before about the danger that the right wing poses to American democracy. But there is another danger lurking which has recently gained more traction on the right The growing persecution of the LGBTQ community. Genocide Watch, an organization focused on the prevention of genocide, created a system to describe how genocide develops. Its founder, Gregory Stanton, describes the process in a series of ten stages.


10/25/2022, 12:00pm

Stop dissing my sisters

 This past July, I took my sisters to see “Minions: The Rise of Gru,” and I wanted to leave less than halfway through. My urge to evacuate was not because the movie was childish, as I had expected that going in. Rather, I was extremely annoyed by one of the main villains: “Nun-Chuck.”  


10/25/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: Can Halloween be taken too far?

 Many people celebrate Halloween in their own unique ways, if they even celebrate it at all. Some use the holiday as a time to dress up and indulge in some free candy, while others love this time of year strictly for the aesthetic. However, as Halloween is deeply rooted in the element of being spooky, many consider it the time of year to be scared.  


10/25/2022, 12:00pm

Beware of the Dahmers: The dos and donts of Halloween 2022

  I must preface by saying that every year there are bound to be those costumes that everyone is thinking of doing. Now, you could argue that great minds think alike, but seeing 20 or more of the same costume isn’t fun for anyone. So here is a guide to what is likely to be the most overdone costumes for this spooky season.


10/18/2022, 12:00pm

Are there too many Jokers?

I really enjoyed Matt Reeves' "The Batman." I thought the action was spectacular, Pattinson is the best live-action Batman to date, the direction was terrific and overall made for a flawed but solid first outing for this new iteration of The Dark Knight. However, one of my major gripes with the film was the runtime. At just shy of 3 hours, the film definitely could've used a trim here and there, and one the things I feel could've been cut entirely is one of the final scenes in the movie. 


10/18/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: The value of school traditions

Traditions are a staple of any school, early or higher education. Whether it's something simple like Homecoming, or more complicated like school rivalries, traditions are an unspoken but fundamental part of institutions. In many ways, the traditions remain to be the most consistent elements of many universities and institutions. 


10/18/2022, 12:00pm

Generational Perceptions: Abridging the gap between the old and new

My father is socially liberal. Recently I asked him to rank the presidents during his lifetime and was surprised by his thoughts, mostly by how he described Ronald Reagan. Dad is aware of the ins and outs of the economy, which is what many cite as one of Reagan’s greatest strengths, and while he didn’t care for Reagan as a person, he doesn’t have this strong distaste for him that I and many younger liberals do.


10/4/2022, 12:00pm

The Republican Party is a danger to democracy

There’s an often-repeated historical anecdote about Benjamin Franklin: As the Constitutional Convention of 1787 was wrapping up, crowds gathered on the steps of Independence Hall. A woman asked Franklin what sort of government the founders had crafted. His response has lasted centuries, to be repeated by politicians from Nancy Pelosi to Niel Gorscuh: “a republic, if you can keep it.”


10/4/2022, 12:00pm

Lights, cameras... what do you mean there are no lights?

The first time I stepped onto the turf field at Shippensburg University, I was a senior in high school at the district championships for track and field. I hurdled, so I usually would race towards the beginning of most meets. I looked over the schedule and noticed that the events ended earlier in the day compared to most invitationals and noteworthy meets. 


10/4/2022, 12:00pm

Biopics: Loving tributes or exploitations of the dead?

When you look back at the past few Oscar seasons, what trends do you see? The actors and actresses that normally lead the award season stretches are those playing real-life figures. Biopics are films centered around historic and public figures and they’re all the rage nowadays. Every major studio wants to get their hands on one.


10/4/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: Can you separate the art from the artist?

Admit it. It hurts when an actor, musician, artist or any type of celebrity you looked up to turns out to have a few skeletons in the closet. It seems like a tragic part of fame we’ve come to accept is there’s always the possibility that these individuals we look up to are still human and more than capable of doing unspeakable things. However, as more and more prominent celebrities have their more problematic sides revealed, the question rises about what should be done with their previous works.


9/27/2022, 2:47pm

The N-Word: The horror and hierarchy of hearing racial slurs in the modern day

When is it okay to use the N-Word? Well, never. But there are varying degrees of badness, and everyone has a different scale of what is evil and what is okay. But there are two sides to the N-Word’s usage, and the other side is hearing the N-Word. Even then, the way it is received depends on the person hearing it. In other words, it’s not a one-size-fits-all misery. 


9/27/2022, 2:44pm

The Slate Speaks: Is hook up culture killing romance?

How often have you heard a friend complain that it’s difficult to find a meaningful relationship? All anyone is looking for nowadays is a hookup? Hookup culture has become deeply rooted in the dating landscape and can usually be a point of contention for many people looking to meet someone else. For a real-world example, think of Tinder; how many profiles have you seen with the caption “no hookups?”