The Slate Staff 2023-24

The Slate staff is comprised of student-volunteers from all majors who strive to provide up-to-date news and entertainment to the Shippensburg University community. Since its founding in 1957, The Slate has earned numerous awards and recognitions for its staff members' dedication to journalism.

The Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association (PNA) awarded The Slate with four Keystone Student Media Awards in the 2024 contest. They are:

  • Honorable Mention, Cartoon/Graphic Illustration- Adam Beam, Media censorship in the wake of war
  • Second Place, News Photo- Allyson Ritchey, SU announces change to 9/11 ceremony.
  • Second Place, Photo Story- Allyson Ritchey, 2023 Winter Commencement
  • Honorable Mention, Photo Story- Quehanna Coble, Glacier National Park and National Bison Range

These current staff members are continuing the work started 67 years ago and upholding the award-winning legacy of quality reporting and service to the Shippensburg University community.


Managing Editor:

News Editor:

Opinion Editor:

Ship Life Editor:

Asst. Ship Life Editor:

Arts and Entertainment Editor:

Asst. Arts and Entertainment Editor:

Sports Editor:

Asst. Sports Editor:

Multimedia Director:

Asst. Multimedia Director:

Copy Editor:

Public Relations Director:

Asst. Public Relations Director:
Caroline Cooper

Business Manager:

Advertising Director:

Asst. Advertising Director:

Asst. Web Director:

Dr. Drager is a communication/journalism professor who specializes in print media. He teaches a variety of classes including News Writing and Reporting, Introduction to Photography and Digital Journalism. Dr. Drager has served as The Slate's adviser since 2003.