OPINION


9/27/2022, 2:47pm

The N-Word: The horror and hierarchy of hearing racial slurs in the modern day

When is it okay to use the N-Word? Well, never. But there are varying degrees of badness, and everyone has a different scale of what is evil and what is okay. But there are two sides to the N-Word’s usage, and the other side is hearing the N-Word. Even then, the way it is received depends on the person hearing it. In other words, it’s not a one-size-fits-all misery. 


9/27/2022, 2:44pm

The Slate Speaks: Is hook up culture killing romance?

How often have you heard a friend complain that it’s difficult to find a meaningful relationship? All anyone is looking for nowadays is a hookup? Hookup culture has become deeply rooted in the dating landscape and can usually be a point of contention for many people looking to meet someone else. For a real-world example, think of Tinder; how many profiles have you seen with the caption “no hookups?”


9/27/2022, 2:41pm

Student debt cancellation: How beneficial is it?

On August 21st, President Biden announced his administration would be forgiving $10,000 in federal student loan debt. Recipients of the Pell Grant — a program designed to help lower income families pay for college — are eligible for an additional $10,000, for a total of $20,000 for low-income students. While I am certainly not the biggest fan of the Biden administration, these measures are a welcome change in policy and a necessary first step in addressing the student debt crisis.


9/20/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: Did early education prepare you for college?

Most would agree that part of the reason you attend college today is due to the idea being pushed upon us at such an early age. When meeting with teacher and guidance counselors, they’ll hammer home how important it is to get a college education. While research has shown that a college education isn’t always necessary, we are told time and time again about the importance of college.


9/20/2022, 12:00pm

In response to Broadway inaccessibility

The August 23, 2022, edition of The Slate featured a story highlighting the high ticket prices and overall inaccessibility of Broadway. As a huge theatre fan and frequent Broadway-goer, I found a lot of merit in the argument being laid out in this piece. However, I see more to the story. 


9/13/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: The ever changing hours of dining

If you were to go around campus and ask 20 students what they think about Shippensburg’s dining services, you would likely get 20 different answers. It is a topic that many here at Ship seem to be passionate about, whether they are discussing the offerings at Reisner Dining Hall or the length of the Chick-Fil-A line. 


9/13/2022, 12:00pm

Black in the Classroom: SU and predominantly white institutions

I am a student,  friend,  daughter,  member of the Ship community,  Black woman,  Political Science major and someone who cares about this campus. When I came to Ship, like many students, I knew some parts about myself but  was ready to learn and identify new parts of me that one can discover in college. 


8/30/2022, 12:00pm

The Truth Behind Animal Testing

This past summer, I worked in my father’s cancer research laboratory as a laboratory technician. My favorite part of this job was learning to work with the colony of mice we maintained to study the way different receptors inside cells impact cancer growth.


8/30/2022, 12:00pm

Skip Intro: Opening credits and what makes them good

What is it that makes binge-watching so magical? Is it the feeling of excitement of watching a series for the first time and needing to know what happens next? Or is it, perhaps, that feeling of comfort watching ten seasons of a series you’ve seen a million times before? Never before have audiences been given such access to the shows they love.


8/30/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: FOMO and the Stress of Social Media

 It seems almost pointless to rattle on and on about the internet and how it has shaped our modern world. We essentially have created the world we live in today on the foundation of the internet. 


8/23/2022, 12:00pm

The inaccessibility of Broadway hurts everyone

When COVID-19 shut down the whole of the world, many fans of musical theatre found themselves living with uncertainty: the uncertainty that Broadway may never return, or even live theater in general. Thankfully, though the intermission was long, Broadway did return. 


8/23/2022, 12:00pm

A First-Year’s Guide to Reisner

Arriving to a new school and going to the cafeteria for the first time can be an intimidating moment. You might wonder: where do I sit? What is there to eat? Who do I sit with? However, you can rest easy, because this is not your average high school cafeteria. 


8/23/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: Advice for first-year students

Coming to college for the first time can be very intimidating. Maybe this is the first time you’re acting independently, or you’ve never been this far from home. While your freshman year can seem scary, there are many things you can do to make the transition into higher education easier.


6/27/2022, 2:07pm

The Ethics of Advertising

 When I began pursuing a college education, I was unaware that public relations was even a field of study, but it was something in which I quickly became interested.  


5/10/2022, 10:10pm

Why legal abortions are still the current pro-life answer

 Earlier this month, the leak of a draft U.S. Supreme Court opinion authored by Justice Samuel Alito in a case involving a Mississippi abortion clinic raised the prospect that America’s highest court would overturn the historic 1973 Roe v. Wade opinion that legalized abortion in all states in the U.S. 


4/26/2022, 12:00pm

Doubles Trouble: Being a twin in tennis

I would consider myself to be a fairly competitive person, as I’m sure many others do. Whether its academics or athletics, I always try to be the best I can be. Though I have a lot of very supportive people in my life, the most supportive person I have in my life is also my biggest competition: my twin sister Tierney.