OPINION


1/24/2023, 9:52pm

White fragility and the discussion of racism

Five weeks to be free in the comfort of where you call home, seeing old friends, and doing whatever you want whenever you want without the shadow of responsibility that is college. Unfortunately, that wasn’t my experience, and my last winter break of my undergrad was left taking two winter classes (the worst). 


1/24/2023, 9:48pm

Is there value in hate-watching something?

It is evident that nowadays, everyone loves to voice their opinions on certain media they either like or dislike. I know that is rich coming from someone like myself, who’s practically made it their job to let everyone know what they thought of the latest movies to hit streaming, but my point still stands.


1/24/2023, 9:46pm

What an engineer looks like: Sexism in the School of Engineering

On Dec. 5, 2022, the official Instagram account of Shippensburg University shared a photo featuring two male-presenting students in the newly named Milton and Doreen Morgan Engineering School with the caption “This is what an #engineer looks like.” The caption was then changed roughly 22 hours later to say, “Hands-on learning at the Milton and Doreen Engineering Lab!” with no comment or apology publicly made. 


1/24/2023, 9:42pm

Give it a Thought: The Age of Majority

Americans are tasked with a variety of obligations while granted various rights and opportunities depending on their age. According to the Cornell Legal Institute, the age of legal majority is set at eighteen years old and is the point in which a person gains “control over their own actions and affairs and becomes responsible for the decisions they make.” 


1/24/2023, 9:39pm

The Slate Speaks: Is nepotism a problem?

In December, New York Magazine published an entire edition dedicated to nepotism babies. For those unaware, a nepotism baby is someone who is born of wealthy parents and whom society sees as having an advantage in life.


11/27/2022, 7:33pm

Giving up in the best way: My journey to reject outrageous beauty standards

It’s a rainy Friday morning. I’m in my dorm, scrolling through TikTok as any college student does (I’ve finished my homework – don’t worry mom.) I’m filtering through all the targeted ads filled with perfect people with trim waists and porcelain skin. I know these ads know something about me: I’m a teenage girl in college.


11/27/2022, 7:33pm

The Slate Speaks: Is Black Friday a good thing?

It’s safe to assume that of the many holidays, Thanksgiving is the one that gets it the worst. Not only do you have more and more people ignoring its existence in order to get to Christmas faster, but it also has to share the day with one of the worst holidays: Black Friday. There’s no true origin of the Black Friday we know today, but the concept has virtually remained the same since its inception. Retail stores around the country post their best deals and discounts on the night of Thanksgiving all through the following Friday. 


11/27/2022, 7:32pm

What makes a good educator?

 All throughout high school I couldn’t wait to get to college to have competent professors. Many of my high school teachers were lackadaisical and didn’t care about how students performed in their class, and my college experience hasn’t been much different. You shouldn’t choose to be an educator if you can’t teach, but sadly many people do. 


11/27/2022, 7:32pm

You can do better than Hallmark this Christmas

I’m always willing to overlook some of the weaker parts of movies like these because they just fill me with that warm holiday feeling. With that being said, when a Christmas movie is bad, it can ruin my spirit immensely – especially if I’m the only one who seems to feel this way. I’m, of course, referring to the endless mountain of garbage that is Hallmark Christmas Movies. 


11/27/2022, 7:31pm

Ticketmaster deserves all the karma coming its way

What fans hoped would be a smooth ticket-buying process soon turned catastrophic. The immense amount of traffic caused Ticketmaster’s site to crash, and many fans were stuck in the queue for hours before they could purchase tickets – or at least attempt to. Ticketmaster released an update on Twitter, saying they were dealing with a “historically unprecedented demand.” 


11/15/2022, 3:28pm

So, your parents are conservative...now what?

As a Political Science major, I am no stranger to talking about politics, especially over the holidays. In fact, as college students, many of us return home and our family assumes that, regardless of major, we are all studying to be scientists of politics, and take that as an open invitation to talk politics whether we want to or not. So, even if you aren’t a Political Science major, you most likely still have these discussions because you’re likely a young college student. All the older generations know that you are a part of the population of people who may or may not be voting (Public Service Announcement: I hope everyone voted this midterm election). 


11/15/2022, 3:27pm

Stop resurrecting the dead for your movies

I recently checked out “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.” Even though the studio spent months and months reassuring us that Chadwick Boseman would not be brought back in CG form, I still went into the movies hesitant seeing how Hollywood seemingly cannot get enough of this practice. Taking either a recently deceased or long-since dead actor or actress and bringing them back to life through visual effects is, frankly, disgusting.


11/15/2022, 3:25pm

The Grammys and the lack of Black representation

The real thing we should be looking for is black representation at awards like this. Black culture has been stolen from and mocked for decades, especially in the music industry. Looking back to 2018, Shawn Carter, also known as Jay-Z, was the most nominated artist of the night with eight nominations for his album 4:44.


11/15/2022, 3:21pm

The Slate Speaks: Why can't we be friends?

The interconnectedness of the internet has made mob mentality so much more powerful. It is easy to jump on the hate train when thousands of other people you’ve never met are already doing it. We’re also living in one of the most polarizing times of recent decades, where people draw definitive lines between those like them and those who have different ideas. 


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

The unspoken scum of toxic fandoms on Youtube

You know what’s the hardest part about being part of a fandom? Having to accept that there’s a strong chance your fandom is toxic. Speaking for myself, I consider myself a pretty big fan of Marvel, DC, Star Wars and other popular franchises. However, it feels with each passing day I have to conceal said love more and more. 


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

The Slate Speaks: Is it too early to celebrate Christmas?

It’s 11:59 p.m. on Oct. 31. The luckiest trick-or-treaters are sneaking one more piece of candy before bed and others are enjoying their sugar-induced night of sleep. But for some, they anxiously watch their phone until the second it becomes 12:00 a.m. on Nov. 1. It’s Christmas time! Or is it? There is an annual debate over when it is appropriate to begin recognizing the Christmas season, and 2022 is no exception.


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

Decision 2024: The candidates, politicians, and names you need to know

The 2022 midterm elections mark the halfway point of President Joe Biden’s first term in office, meaning the road to the 2024 presidential election is fast approaching. Both parties have crucial decisions to make within the next two years that will decide whether they control the Oval Office on Jan. 20, 2025.


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

No vote, no voice: Talking politics

This year, millions of Americans will exercise their constitutional right to vote in the midterm elections, but many will actively ignore this privilege and avoid the polls. Some of these people will still take their opinion to the internet or the ears of those nearby.  While you are allowed to have political opinions and speak your mind, you shouldn’t complain about election results you didn’t participate in. 


11/8/2022, 12:00pm

Why you need to vote today

If you’re anything like me, you have been inundated with ads, text messages, emails and campaign materials for the past 18 months from every candidate who has your address and phone number. While it can get exhausting, it is important to remember why all of this is happening: you need to vote!