Cameron "Throcks" the competition


Cameron Throckmorton picked up the title in the 133-pound division.

Entering the weekend the Shippensburg University wrestling team sent 10 wrestlers to the NCAA Super Region I Championships and after the weekend action, the Raiders had four wrestlers place, including Cameron Throckmorton — winner of the 133-pound division.

After finishing ninth in the Super Region I Championships the last two seasons, SU sat in seventh place in the championships entering Friday’s matches, and it looked to climb the rankings as the weekend progressed.

The Raiders improved their rankings throughout the weekend ultimately finishing in sixth place in the Super Region I’s.

Throckmorton was the only SU wrestler to finish the day undefeated. He defeated Millersville University’s Kyle Loeb by pinfall and Kutztown University’s Brandon Davis in a close, hard-battled
decision win.

Along with Throckmorton, seven wrestlers earned enough victories to move onto the action on Saturday.

Dereck Enders, Cody Myers, Ean Starner, John Lindquist, Bobby Schelvert, Neal Grudi, Marshall Hobbs and Throckmorton all were in action on the second day of competition.

Starner, Hobbs, Lindquist and Enders all lost in the opening round on Saturday leaving Throckmorton, Myers, Grudi and Scheivert to wrestle.

After the action ended, four SU wrestlers placed. Scheivert placed fifth in the 165-pound division.
Cody Myers placed fifth in the 141-pound division. Grudi placed sixth in the 161-pound division and Throckmorton placed first in the 133-pound division.

Throckmorton won all four matches over the weekend, scoring one win by pin-fall, and picking up his other three victories by decision.

In his two matches on Saturday, Throckmorton defeated Mercyhurst University’s Dylan D’Urso and Anderson University’s Zach Hale.

D’Urso defeated Throckmorton earlier in the year at the PSAC Championships and was riding a 19-match winning streak. However, Throckmorton avenged the loss with a 9–4 decision victory becoming the first SU wrestler to win the regional championship since the 2006-2007 season.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Slate.