APB holds fourth annual campus life awards

Shippensburg University’s Activities Program Board (APB) hosted its fourth annual Campus Life Awards Program Wednesday, May 1 in the Tuscarora Room.

The purpose of the ceremony is to recognize individuals as well as student groups for their achievements. All student groups and individuals are allowed to submit nominations for the different awards.

The master of ceremonies this year was SU student and APB’s chairperson Jozalyn Gregor.

Gregor began the ceremony and welcomed the audience, which included individual SU students as well as student groups.

The first speaker at the program was assistant director for student group services and leadership development Ashley White. White presented awards to several students for recognition of emerging and advanced leaders.

The second award presenter was associate dean of students Bob Smith. Smith presented the awards for campus visibility and for distinguished program of the year.

The campus visibility award went to APB.

The distinguished program of the year went to Mini-Thon. SU’s Mini-Thon was an event in November 2012, which raised more than $10,000 for pediatric cancer patients.

The next award presenter was SU’s director of fraternity and sorority life Emilee Danielson. Danielson presented the impact award and the innovative cultural awareness program.

The winner of the impact award was the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

The winner of the innovative cultural awareness program was One Billion Rising: Rape Educators and ConTacts (REACT), Vagina Monologues cast and the SU Women’s Center.

The fourth award presenter was Marsha Bonn. Bonn presented awards for diversity development and leadership development.

The diversity development award went to the Student-Veterans of America (SVA).

The leadership development award went to SU’s Up ‘Til Dawn, a fundraising program that supports St. Jude Children’s Hospital.

The next award presenter was the director of SU’s Women’s Center Stephanie Erdice, who presented awards for the promising new student group and the Shippensburg community service and engagement award.

The winner of the promising new student group was the Toastmasters, a public speaking group on SU’s campus.

The winner of the Shippensburg community service and engagement award went to Kappa Beta Gamma.

The next awards were the outstanding student awards, which were presented by Kristan Gregory Wun. Each outstanding student award winner also received a $200 university book store stipend from the Phillips Family Foundation.

The outstanding first-year student award went to Brandi Reisher.
The outstanding sophomore student award went to Amber Chidboy.
The outstanding junior student award went to Hillary Burnside.
The final award presenter was assistant director of campus activities and programming Elizabeth Thomas, who presented awards for the Raider Legacy and the outstanding faculty/staff adviser.

The Raider Legacy award goes to a senior SU student. The award winner received a $250 professional attire stipend from the Phillips Family Foundation as well.

The Raider Legacy award went to Justine Machamer.

The final award, the outstanding faculty/staff adviser award went to assistant dean of admissions Kristen Nickey.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Slate.