Dream Team and F.P.C. take home intramural crowns


F.P.C. and the Dream Team came away with the intramural championships.

From the grass to the hardwood, a few SU athletes were in full force during the intramural championships at Heiges Field House on Wednesday night.

Star football players, Jake Metz and Tyriq Kershaw took the court for the men’s title while soccer players Ashley Vellucci, Meghan Mahon, Alyssa House and Kate Zech all transferred from the pitch to the hardwood in what was a thoroughly entertaining night.

In the first highlight of the night, the Dream Team, led by Vellucci and others took the court against Wild Game. Wild Game kept it close throughout the majority of the game, but Vellucci and Mahon provided an ample amount of scoring punch, leading the Dream Team to the 46–33 victory and the intramural crown.

However, Wild Game’s Erin Shirk and Jenna Davis provided a glimpse of what could unfurl in the next intramural championship game. The youthful squad, comprised of six sophomores and two freshmen, could gel together If the team stays intact heading into next year.

In the nightcap, Metz and Kershaw ousted Who Gives a Ship! 55–47. Led by Cory Albright, a perennial intramural contender, Who Gives a Ship! kept the game close throughout, but ultimately lost the game due to clutch shooting from F.P.C.

Metz was able to use his size and muscle throughout the game, leading the team to the men’s crown. Metz, a star defensive lineman for the football team, showed off his hops as he slammed home a dunk after regulation.

The Dream Team roster comprised Vellucci, Kristen Kane, Mahon, Sarah Sumner, House, Kerry Senderling, Mariah Landis, Brittany Hibshman, Brianna Forde and Zech.

F.P.C. ‘s roster included Kershaw, Metz, Antione Singleton, Dainen Green, Maurice Harris, Mike Schmidt, Sharif Smith, Cordairo Taylor, Alex Carrion and Shane Watson.

Now that the end of the intramural basketball season has ended, the intramural volleyball season is up next.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Slate.