Senators inducted into Student Government

Shippensburg University’s Student Government held its weekly meeting Thursday, but this time, with many additional attendees.

Family members and friends of the newly student senators packed into the Ceddia Union Building’s Anchor Meeting Room 119 at 4 p.m. to witness the inauguration of the 2017–18 Student Government.

Prior to the inauguration, this year’s Student Government held its last official meeting, going over general business such as approving the minutes from the April 6 meeting and committee updates.

Numerous senators took the time to thank their fellow senators for the work they put into Student Government during the 2016–17 school year.

“We’re very proud of all our senators here, they work very hard and tirelessly,” former Student Government President Traci Moyer said.

Throughout the year, Student Government was responsible for approving monetary allocations to student groups, the disbandment of SU’s homecoming committee and its subsequent merger with the Activities Program Board and overseeing general student activities.

At the conclusion of its last meeting, the 2016–17 senators made room as Moyer called president-elect Madison Scarr to the front of the room. Then, Scarr called on each senator one by one to be sworn in. After every senator was called, Scarr called her first meeting as Student Government president to order.

Although Student Government accrued approximately a dozen new senators, several senator positions for the 2017–18 year remain vacant, including representatives for the College of Business, College of Education and Human Services and non-traditional students. For the time being, these positions will remain vacant.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Slate.