Ruud named new president of University of Northern Iowa


The University of Northern Iowa named current Shippensburg University President William Ruud as its 10th president on Thursday, Feb. 7.

Ruud will begin his duties as UNI president on June 1, and will be paid an annual salary of $340,000.
Ruud, who has been the SU president for seven years, met with the Iowa Board of Regents Thursday.

The board voted Thursday afternoon after deliberation at the West Des Moines Sheraton Hotel. Michael Wartell from Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) was also interviewed earlier Thursday for the position, according to the Eastern Iowa Gazette.

The current University of Northern Iowa President Ben Allen had announced in August 2012 he would be retiring in 2013 after having served as UNI president for seven years.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Slate.