SU coach honored as 2012’s PSAC Indoor Coach of the Year

Shippensburg University men’s and women’s indoor track & field coach Dave Osanitsch was named the 2012 PSAC Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year on Friday afternoon by the league office.

It is the second consecutive year that he was won both PSAC indoor coaching awards.
In his seventh season at the helm of the Raiders, Osanitsch has now won 13 PSAC Coach of the Year awards. This is fourth time he has been honored for women’s indoor track & field and has now been recognized for three consecutive years.

Both of SU’s track and field/cross country programs are ranked among the Top 10 in Division II per the latest update of the United States Track and Field Cross Country Coaches Association Division II Program of the Year Standings. SU is one of just six schools to have both its men’s and women’s programs ranked in the Top 10. The SU women are ranked sixth while the SU men are ranked eighth.

On the men’s side, SU established a meet record at the PSAC Championships with 213.5 points, besting the second-place school by nearly 130 points. SU won eight event championships to complement 14 All-PSAC finishes and 34 PSAC placewinners.

The SU men’s squad finished the regular season with a No. 18 national ranking and just one point behind the perennially strong St. Augustine’s program for top honors in the Atlantic Region. At the national championships, SU received two All-American performances from Herman Kirkland.

On the women’s side, SU is the only women’s program in the PSAC this season to have held a national ranking and finished the year as the top-ranked team in the Atlantic region, leapfrogging Johnson C. Smith after the 2012 PSAC Indoor Track & Field Championships.

The Raiders won their third straight PSAC women’s indoor title and league-best, fourth overall by scoring 166.5 points.

At the national championships, SU received All-American performances from its distance medley relay squad as well as individual finishes for Amanda Raudabaugh and Katie Spratford.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Slate.